October is a true month of celebration – it’s National Seafood Month!…YEAH!!!!!

For all you seafood lovers and those of you who would like to start to incorporate seafood into your diet…This is your month to ‘Just do It’

There is no better time than now to enjoy delicious, fresh seafood like oysters, shrimp, salmon and crab cakes. Eating seafood two or more times a week benefits your body in many ways. The omega-3 fatty acids found in seafood products can protect against heart disease, relieve inflammatory diseases, and keep the immune system healthy.

 I have to admit, I can eat seafood seven days a week.  I absolutely love all kinds of seafood..except squid and octopus…I think..since I really never tasted them before.  I may even like it if I dare to try them.

 To celebrate National Seafood Month, for the rest of October, I will be sharing some of my favorite tips on purchasing, and preparing seafood along with some yummy recipes.

 So…..today’s topic will be on oysters…one of my favorite types of seafood.

 Some may say that oysters are an acquired taste.  They are traditionally eaten raw on the half shell, however they are also a popular ingredient in many Cajun/Creole dishes, such as Oysters Rockefeller, Seafood Gumbo, and Oysters Bienville. Even though you can purchase oysters year round; they are at their best September thru April.  Some of you  may have heard of the ‘R month rule’. This rule states that the best time to eat oysters is during a month that contains the letter ‘R’. I have discovered that there may be some truth to this rule.  During the summer months fresh oysters tend to be very soft and milky and not as tasty; unlike the fall/winter months when they are much more plump and pleasant to eat.

 Oysters are usually sold three ways; in the shell, shucked and stored in their liquor, or frozen.  I normally purchase them shucked so that I can use them in various different recipes.  During early Spring when grilling season begins, I love to prepare Chargrilled Oysters. And those who know me know that it’s a ritual of mine to have fried oysters on most weekends.  It’s a Naw’lins tradition from way back when.  Try one of my favorite oyster recipe and let me know your thoughts. As we say in NOLA…Bon Appétit, Y’all!!!!!

 Chargrilled Oysters

I first experienced this dish while I was living in New Orleans years ago and would frequently practice preparing this dish until I perfected it.  It’s really easy, fast to prepare, and absolutely deelish!

 Ingredients

  • 24 fresh shucked oysters, on the half shell
  • 1 lb unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 bunches green onions, finely chopped
  • 20 garlic cloves, pureed
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 3 tablespoons finely chopped fresh thyme  and oregano
  • 2 tablespoons creole seasoning
  • 2 ounces white wine
  • 1 cup grated romano cheese
  • 1 loaf French bread

 Directions

  1. Melt half the butter in a medium sauce pan over medium heat.
  2. Add your lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, green onions and all herbs and seasonings.
  3. Cook for 2-3 minutes, then stir in wine. Keep stirring and remove from heat as soon as the green onions wilt. Let cool for 3-4 minutes.
  4. Add the rest of the butter and stir until completely incorporated.
  5. Heat grill to 350°F
  6. Place oysters on grill. When the oyster liquor starts to bubble, spoon 1 tablespoon of sauce on top of each, then top with 1 tablespoon of Romano cheese.
  7. Let the cheese melt. When oysters begin to slightly brown at the edges, remove from grill and place on a heat proof plate or tray.
  8. Top each oyster with an additional tablespoon of the butter sauce and serve immediately with slices of french bread for dipping.

1 Comment

Filed under Grilled Food, Oysters, Seafood

One response to “October is a true month of celebration – it’s National Seafood Month!…YEAH!!!!!

  1. I had never tried oysters until a few years ago. I attended a cookout whereee some were prepared chargrilled. I’ve been a fan ever since. Thanks for this recipe. Yum, yum!

    Consuela

Leave a comment